starHIPLA Judicial Fellowships

Grant applications for Federal Court and USPTO
Interns Now Being Accepted

What is the Grant?
Grants up to $3,000 are available for a limited number of law students to serve as interns for at least six weeks in the Houston offices of a U.S. District Court Judge or a U.S. Magistrate Judge at the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, or at the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Who is Eligible?
Full-time students at the University of Houston Law Center, the Thurgood Marshall School of Law or the South Texas College of Law, who:

  • Are not receiving law school credit for their internship. (Exception: For interns at the Federal Circuit or USPTO, the student can receive credit if the grant is in the form of reimbursement for expenses in accordance with ABA rules.)
  • Intend to practice intellectual property law;
  • Are U.S. citizens;
  • Have completed at least 30 hours of course work at the time the internship begins; and
  • Have, at the time of application, a grade point average that ranks in the top half of the applicant's law school class.

How to Apply?
Send a resume, a letter describing your interest in intellectual property law, a letter from the court or USPTO stating that the recipient has been accepted for an internship and a description of any special circumstances you would like considered to:

Houston Intellectual Property Law Association
Priya Prasad
ExxonMobil Chemical Company
5200 Bayway Drive
Baytown, TX 77520

When to Apply?
Applications can be made at any time after a student has obtained an internship and before it is completed.

Additional Notes:
The receipt of this Grant is dependent upon the completion of the terms and conditions of the internship. The recipient will also be required to write a short letter to HIPLA at the end of the internship reviewing the internship experience.

Past Fellowship Award Winners

April 2008
Ryan Elizabeth Abbott

October 2007
W. Michael Schuster

May 2007
Rene Trevino

December 2006
Rene Trevino

Lee L. Stepina
Cindee Ewell
Karen D. Presley
Stephen Dartt
Natasha Gransberry
Ryan Christensen